Winterwalk

Happy New Year to all of you, or as they say in German, “einen guten Rutsch ins neue Jahr” – the idea is, have a good “slide” into the New Year. I think the idea behind it is “May your entrance to the new year be a smooth one.” I apologize for not updating during the month of December, but between wonderful visits with friends, the holidays and travel to the States and back home to Germany, we have been plenty busy.

For those of you who have been curious about my older sister, she is doing really well. We had a great visit with her and as you might imagine, it was very comforting for me to be with her. Each day, she was more and more like her old self. Sometimes she has difficulties with her short-term memory, but I think this will improve with time. Perhaps her biggest challenge at the moment is her vision, which isn’t that good. The doctors are going to see how much her eyes can heal on their own, and then will determine whether she will need surgery.

It is really good to be back home in our little town in upper Bavaria. While in the States, I missed our little bakery with the fresh pretzels and breads. I missed our house and the cats, speaking German and the mountains. Before we left Indianapolis, we were finally able to ship our car. It should be arriving the first part of February, at the port city of Bremerhaven. Once we know when the car will arrive, we will take the train (probably overnight) up to Bremerhaven and then drive back home. It’s almost as far as you can go from one end of the country to the other, and could take between 8 and 9 hours. We will probably divide the trip in half, and of course it also depends on the weather. The cities of Kassel and Würzburg are roughly in the middle of our drive, so perhaps we will visit one of the them.

Yesterday, the sun came out so I bundled up Rosebud and myself. We went on a lovely Winterspaziergang, or Winterwalk, through our town. It looks so different and so beautiful under the fluffy white snow.

The Tölzerstrasse, toward Bad Tölz

The Tölzerstrasse, toward the middle of Bad Heilbrunn

Rosebud is dubious of her mittens.

The park in Bad Heilbrunn, looking south toward the snow-covered mountains

Another view of the park, with Bavarian houses peeking over the hill

6 responses to “Winterwalk

  1. Mary Ann Verkamp

    Wie herrlich!

  2. Hey! Great to hear you’ll be over, that’s really exciting! Sorry I missed you in December, it’s not a very good time for me because I have usually run out of steam by the end of term.

    I am away for a week from the Easter weekend and a couple of weekends in March, but I’m quite flexible outside of that. Yey! Exciting!

  3. Good to hear your sister is doing better. Even though I don’t know her, I was wondering how she was doing.

    • bowmansinbavaria

      Thank you! My daughter and I are going to visit her from March 11 to the 23rd, because I think she can use some good sister time. Karen continues to do well, but I know she can use some cheering up from our visit.

      It is kind of strange to me that in a week and a half, I’ll be back in the States, though.

  4. I am jealous of the views you have from right outside your door! Wowsa! Talk about a Winter Wonderland!

Leave a Reply

