Small improvements each day for Karen

I called our Dad this evening. He was with Karen, and I got to talk with her on the phone! It was so wonderful to hear her voice. Dad said that her replies to me were the most he has heard her say. I told Karen some Rosebud stories, notably Rosebud’s obsession at the moment – cows! I asked Karen if she is relatively comfortable, and she said she is. I asked if she was warm enough (in our family, we women are notorious for having chilly hands and feet when everyone else is comfortable). She took her time finding the words, and although I didn’t really understand what she was saying, she was clearly processing what I asked and taking her time to find the words. As I was talking with her, it was definitely my sister. Dad said she was able to walk 80 feet today with a walker, and each day brings small improvements. This is encouraging and I feel optimistic.

Leave a Reply

