Nein, nein, nein, nein, nein!

Rosebud is speaking more and more each day. I’m amazed at how quickly she is picking up new vocabulary and how well she pronounces most words. She does have some sentences and words that only I understand!

We were at a friend’s 40th birthday party on Saturday. There were lots of kids there for Rosebud to play with, although she was the youngest child there. One five-year-old boy kept saying “nein” when she tried to play with some toys he wanted. In response, she kept saying to him, “nein nein nein nein nein!” Even though this is the only word I’ve heard her say in German, she definitely understands and knows what it means.

At the end of October, Rosebud and I will spend the weekend in France. Although David would very much like to come with us, he has some work he will need to finish that weekend. I will be visiting with my friend Claire, who came to visit us in July. I wrote a little bit about Claire in this post about Garmisch-Partenkirchen. This reminds me, I have yet to write about the trip we took to Kochel/Mittenwald with Claire and Estelle, and also our visit to Chiemsee.

Rosebud and I leave for France on Thursday the 29th of October. We’ll travel to Basel, which I recently learned is called Bâle in French. Then we will meet with Claire’s parents and spend the night with them in their gorgeous little village in the Jura region of France; and after that, we will be near Montbéliard/Belfort with Claire. Then we will return home on the 2nd of November. I can’t tell you how excited I am to visit with my friend and her family, and to return to eastern France. Most people don’t know about the Jura mountains and that part of France. It’s absolutely stunning and an outdoor lover’s paradise. Many of you probably have heard of the French painter Gustave Courbet, who is from the town of Ornans which is in the Jura region.

This painting, called The Torrent, shows a stream in the Jura mountains, to give you an idea of what the region looks like.

painted by Gustave Courbet, in the Jura mountain region, France

painted by Gustave Courbet, in the Jura mountain region, France

While in France, we will celebrate Claire’s 30th birthday. I am so happy that I will be included in the festivities with her family and will get to see nearly everyone. When I was an undergraduate student studying abroad in Besançon, in 1997-1998, I met Claire through the university orchestra, in the viola section. Her family took me under their wings, so to speak, and since then I have thought of them like my “French family”. They really remind me of my family in many ways, especially since they love music so much. Claire’s parents have met my older sister when she visited me in France, and they’ve also met David when we went on vacation. And now, they will get to meet our daughter Rosebud. I am really looking forward to it.

We have also bought our plane tickets to travel back to the US for the holidays. Before we return home, however, we will be spending the weekend of December 18th in London with some friends who live near London. It turns out that flying from London to Indiana, and buying a separate flight from Munich to London, is less expensive. Those of you who plan on visiting us might want to keep that information handy!

I am excited about our upcoming trips. It’s always fun to travel. 🙂

In other news, we are getting a rain-snow mix this evening, and expect several snowy days later this week. We’ve had a beautiful fall, so I can’t complain. Snow at this time of year in southern Germany isn’t unusual, but generally it doesn’t stay around very long until later in the season.

3 responses to “Nein, nein, nein, nein, nein!

  1. Oh oh, coming to the UK!

    If you have a little time to spare I am finished with school on the 17th so I am available for driving around the country and meeting people for coffee 😉

    That bit of France sounds lovely, I hope you enjoy your trip. I would like to see more of the Alps when they’re not covered in snow, really.

    • bowmansinbavaria

      Hi Sally!! We arrive in the UK on the 18th, and will be in London through the 21st. I don’t know if you’ve met Steph or Libby before, but they will be joining us in London for that weekend. How cool is that? I don’t know if you are up for a trip to London, but if so, we would so love to have you join us.

      David and I were just talking about you, and how we really would like to plan a trip to your part of the UK at some point.

      • I have met Steph before, but a very long time ago! I am definitely able to make it for one of those days, I can get a bus up for the day. If you let me know which day would be best (I can’t really do the 18th but any of the others are fine) I will book some tickets nearer the time.

        How exciting!

        I can definitely be very helpful about planning a trip into the southwest, too 🙂

Leave a Reply

