Tegernsee

At the end of July, Rosebud and I went to Tegernsee with our friends. Tegernsee is another gorgeous alpine lake, with stunning crystal clear water. Here’s a map to give you an idea of the area:

This is the official tourism site of Tegernsee, which has a neat panorama view. The German Wikipedia entry on Tegernsee is also informative (the English page says very little about the area).

As my digital camera was out of commission, I had a great time using my SLR instead. We scanned in the prints, so they’re not quite as nice as an original digital photo would be, but I’m still pleased with the results.

We spent a lot of time at the park, which was an ideal place to let Rosebud play on the grass and watch the people there.

Beautiful park at Tegernsee

Beautiful park at Tegernsee

People-watching at Tegernsee

People-watching at Tegernsee

I attempted to keep Rosebud’s hat on her, but she preferred it off. It’s funny, because six weeks later, she likes putting her hat on. I think she finally understands the purpose of a hat, to protect her from the sun.

Rosebud and sunshine

Rosebud and sunshine

Hat on!  Apply directly to the head!

Hat on! Apply directly to the head!

Rosebud, sitting pretty

Rosebud, sitting pretty

The first biscuit was delicious, but I'm not sure about this one.

The first biscuit was delicious, but I'm not sure about this one.

We spent most of the afternoon strolling along the lake. It’s a well-known tourist area, and we saw plenty of well-dressed people, fancy cars and the like. And no wonder, as Tegernsee is extremely beautiful. But it’s also a great place to start a hiking adventure, as it is close to the Alps. We saw plenty of tourists wearing hiking gear.

View of Tegernsee, looking south toward the Alps

View of Tegernsee, looking south toward the Alps

684942-12A

Along the edge of the lake, there were lots of resting areas, parks and benches, making it a great outing for us. The next time I am in Tegernsee, I’ll probably pack a picnic lunch.

Rosebud in Bloom

Rosebud in Bloom

This statue was also quite cute, of a little boy fishing next to the lake.

Statue of a boy, fishing

Statue of a boy, fishing

And in this picture, you can get a sense of how clear and pretty the water is.
684942-24A

When we return to Tegernsee, I very much would like to rent a boat or take the ferry out on the lake. There is much more there for me to explore! Aren’t I lucky to be a stay-at-home-mom, as I get to take my daughter to places like these? We would have never dreamed of these opportunities before Rosebud was born.

6 responses to “Tegernsee

  1. She is getting SO big! And yes, you’re lucky to be a stay-at-home mom.

    • bowmansinbavaria

      Relatively, yes, I am astounded at how much she has grown! I was looking at the growth chart yesterday evening and she’s probably in the 5-10th percentiles; people don’t believe me when I say how old she is. Alas! But I’m not truly concerned. She’s growing, hitting the milestones and goodness me she certainly eats. So. She’s doing exactly what she is supposed to be doing.

      I am amazed at how much Zen has changed in such a short time. He is already losing that newborn baby look. You and your DH make cute babies. πŸ™‚

  2. Rosebud is so cute in her little sunhat. I laughed at “hat on! apply directly to the head!” πŸ™‚

    How lucky that she gets to grow up in such a beautiful place.

  3. Julia Keller-Welter

    What a wonderful gift to give a young mind! Language, curiosity, knowledge of more than what’s in front of your nose….You are a wonderful MOM!!!!

Leave a Reply

