Lost in Translation

As a belated birthday gift, my sister (Aunt K) and my husband David gave me a backpack baby carrier, so that we can go hiking with Rosebud. We ordered the carrier about a week and a half ago, and it arrived in the mail this past Wednesday. I couldn’t wait to try it out and had the chance to do so this afternoon. And my review of the backpack can be summed up by one word: fantastic!

The carrier is made by the German outdoor sports company Vaude, and it’s called the Jolly Comfort IV. It’s a very thoughtfully designed carrier: it comes with a sun roof with rain cover, a baby changing pad, plenty of storage space, hooks for baby toys, a cuddly “bear” attachment for the baby to hold on to, and it’s easily adjustable. Also, the carrier will last us until Rosebud is at least three years old. I intend to get as much use out of it as I can! It’s very comfortable and nicely distributes the weight. I was completely comfortable as we hiked for several hours this afternoon. I am already thinking about our next hiking adventure.

Some pictures of Rosebud in the carrier, before I put it on:

Have blankie, ready to hike.

Have blankie, ready to hike.

Mom, can we go already?

Mom, can we go already?

As we were properly sizing the carrier, I was reading through the manual and noticed a hilarious translation in the section called “Care and Cleaning”.

Cut down on the mutant life forms that will decorate your child carrier if you store it wet: dry it.

I read through the other languages, and none of them were as colorful or funny as this was in English. The other languages simply mention mildew and mold, not mutant life forms; nor is there any mention of said mutant life forms decorating the carrier in the other languages. I wonder what copy editor let that one slip by? 😀 Regardless, that sentence made my day.

This morning started out rainy, but cleared up considerably by the afternoon. We decided to try climbing up the hill across from our house. It’s actually considered a foothill to the Alps (Voralpen). I think the elevation tops out at around 1200 meters. We climbed up to about 900 meters I’d say, about an incline of 300 meters from our house. It was a great hike! We didn’t go as far as I would have liked (to the Blomberg area) as the path was muddy and slick in places. It would have probably added another hour and a half to the hike as well. We hope to go that far on the path the first chance we get. With luck, we’ll have a gorgeous Saturday this September.

In this video, you can see a little bit of the trail, and me carrying Rosebud in our new carrier:

After our hike, we decided to stop at a Biergarten that has just reopened. It’s on the way back to our house and features Hungarian cuisine. While I enjoyed a cup of coffee and Palatschinken (a dessert that is like a crêpe; the one I ordered had chocolate sauce and hazelnuts), David sipped some Schneiderweiss beer [i]vom Fass[/i] – from the tap. He said it was excellent. Rosebud, of course, was hungry and interested in my Palatschinken and her Daddy helped too! I figured after a rigorous hike, we had earned a sweet treat.

Here’s a video of us at the Biergarten, featuring Rosebud eating the Palatschinken.

On the weekends, it’s common for German families to go hiking and then stop for Kaffee und Kuchen (coffee and cake) either after they’ve completed the hike, or in the middle of the hike. It partly depends on when you find a Gasthaus or Biergarten or restaurant. I approve of this German custom! In my opinion, it’s such a civilized way to spend an afternoon – fresh air, exercise, family time and dessert. What could be better?

4 responses to “Lost in Translation

  1. Better watch out for those mutant life forms! I hear Vaude makes great backpacks in general.

    I cant believe how big Ronnie is getting already. Beautiful family!

    • bowmansinbavaria

      After our hike today, I was extra vigilant to make sure there were no mutant life forms coming back home with us.

      I can’t believe how much Rosebud has grown, too! I feel like she was a baby, and then one day, all of a sudden, she was a toddler.

  2. Perhaps Rosebud is considered the Mutant Life Form; she could certainly “decorate” the carrier. Peas, anyone??

    • bowmansinbavaria

      Rosebud was in her highchair for breakfast this morning, munching on a piece of banana bread. Then she looked up at me and said “Pea! Pea!”. I didn’t have any made or I would have served her peas for breakfast.

      The backpack carrier is awesome. In some ways I prefer it to the stroller. Tomorrow we will use it on our walk to Bad Tölz.

Leave a Reply

