Back Home Again in Indiana

Greetings, everyone! It has been quite awhile since I last updated our family blog. Currently Rosebud and I are back home in Indiana. We arrived on June 1st; David arrives tomorrow as he has had to work. We will be here until the end of June.

We have been busy visiting with our family and our friends. It’s been wonderful to see everyone. Last weekend, Rosebud and I met up with my older sister Aunt Karen in Ohio and then we drove to upstate NY to visit my father and my younger sister Aunt Rochelle. It also gave me the opportunity to meet up with some of my high school friends. (I shared some yummy German chocolate with them!)

Aunt Rochelle is getting married at the end of June, so we will be traveling back to upstate NY for her wedding. We are so happy and excited for her and her fiancé! While visiting Aunt Rochelle in upstate NY, we went to Sonnenberg Gardens for her bridal shower. It is now a state park and well worth a visit if you are in the Finger Lakes region of New York State. We also had a wine tasting at Sonnenberg Gardens. I still love the wine from the winery Casa Larga, which is in my home town. If you like Ice Wine (Eiswein), their Fiori Vidal is one of the best I have ever tried. It is well worth the price, I promise!

The last two weeks of May were busy for us, as Aunt Karen was visiting us in Bavaria. I will write all about our adventures. Here’s a preview: we went hiking in Austria – the mountain views are incredibly beautiful. We then took a long weekend trip to Salzburg, Vienna and Linz in Austria. That was my first trip to those cities and I am eager to return and do some more exploring. I had the opportunity to chat with the locals in each of those cities and found them to be charming, friendly and very happy to show us cities. We also went to the well-known castle Neuschwanstein on my birthday and did some other day trips from our house (which, I must say, is ideally located to visit all of these wonderful destinations).

I do hope you will enjoy traveling virtually along with us, as you read about our latest adventures.

This is for all you Hoosiers out there. 😉

Back Home Again in Indiana

I have always been a wand’rer
Over land and sea
Yet a moonbeam on the water
Casts a spell o’er me
A vision fair I see
Again I seem to be

Back home again in Indiana,
And it seems that I can see
The gleaming candlelight, still shining bright,
Through the sycamores for me.
The new-mown hay sends all its fragrance
From the fields I used to roam.
When I dream about the moonlight on the Wabash,
Then I long for my Indiana home.

Leave a Reply

