Spargelcremesuppe

Yesterday afternoon, it was NOT raining, so Rosebud and I took a short walk to the Spargel (asparagus, remember?) stand. I bought about a kilo of asparagus – a bundle of green and six stems of white, so I could make Cream of Asparagus Soup.
It took a little time to make, but it was so delicious and fresh tasting. It also afforded me the opportunity to use my Braun Stick Blender for the first time – worked like a charm! I think I prefer the stick blender to a jar blender, as you simply blend in the pot you’re using for cooking. Easy, peasy.

On our way home from the Spargel stand, I stopped at the local bakery and bought a loaf of Roggen-Dinkel brot, which means Rye-Spelt bread. Spelt is an unhybridized form of wheat; I’ve read that it was used by the Romans. I think I like the taste of spelt better than all-purpose wheat flour. We have used it a lot back in the States in recent years, but it is expensive and can be hard to find, especially the light spelt flour. Here in Germany, it’s often used in baked goods and it’s quite easy to find in the supermarket.

As I was setting the table, Miss Rosebud had a hungry look in her eyes, even though we had just nursed. I decided to serve up a little soup for her as well. She LOVED it. I was very pleased and a little surprised that she liked cream of asparagus soup. She also happily munched on some of the Roggen-Dinkel brot.

Here is the recipe I used:

Spargelcremesuppe

4 tbsp. butter
1 1/2 pounds asparagus, trimmed and/or peeled, and cut into 1 inch pieces
1/4 cup flour
1 tsp. dried oregano
4 cups or about 1 liter chicken broth* or asparagus water
1 cup milk or cream
salt and pepper to taste

1. Steam asparagus for about ten minutes. Save the asparagus water to use for making the chicken broth or to use without the chicken broth.
2. In a large pot, melt the butter. Then add the steamed asparagus and oregano. Cook in the butter for a few minutes.
3. Add the flour to the asparagus, stir, and then add the chicken broth; stir again.
4. Bring to a boil, and then simmer for 20 to 25 minutes until the asparagus is completely soft.
5. Remove from the heat, and blend until smooth.
6. Stir in the milk or cream, then reheat but do not let the mixture boil. Season with salt and pepper.

Note – I used low-fat milk and thought it tasted quite delicious this way. Whole milk or cream is, of course, extra delicious and will give your soup a nice body.

Important edit!! I forgot to add this detail: when you steam your asparagus, keep the asparagus water and use it to make your chicken broth! Or simply use the Spargelsud (asparagus water) on its own. Thank you to ap269 for reminding me. ­čśë

10 responses to “Spargelcremesuppe

  1. Keep the soup warm; I’ll be right over.

  2. Hmm, sounds yummy. I am going to try your recipe ;o). Instead of the chicken broth I’ll use the leftover asparagus water (I have no idea how you call that in English, it’s the fluid remaining from the asparagus I cooked yesterday – Spargelsud in German), though. That’s what my grandmother and mother taught me: NEVER EVER pour this “Spargelsud” away!!!!! ;o)

    • bowmansinbavaria

      ap, thank you for reminding me of this very important detail!! I can’t believe I forgot to say to make the chicken broth with the Spargelsud! (Asparagus water) It gives the soup such a yummy flavor. Or, like you are planning on doing, you can just use the Spargelsud.

      That is a new word for me, and I like it very much.

  3. I like this recipe:

    http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Cream-of-Fresh-Asparagus-Soup-II/Detail.aspx

    I use vegetable broth instead of chicken broth, and I reserve the tips and steam them separately to add them into the soup after it’s done heating through. Your recipe looks yummy too! I just bought another pound of asparagus this morning at the Wednesday farmers’ market (next week, I can go to THREE markets a week with ease – I am spoiled!). I’ll try yours out next!

  4. Mary Ann Verkamp

    That Spargelcremesuppe recipe is a must try; it sounds so good! Both the white and green asparagus is now available fresh in the supermarkets.

  5. Oh, glad to hear the “Spargelsud” is actually called asparagus water. I’ve learned something then, today…

  6. Btw, I’m glad I can ask you because none of my American friends can really answer this question because they don’t know this German dessert/ babyfood. How would you call “Grie├čbrei”? I’m sure you’ve seen this at the grocery store already. The dictionary said: semolina pudding, but I’m not really sure it really describes it well. It does in a literal sense, but nobody knows what I’m talking about when I mention semolina pudding. So how would you describe it to Amercians?

    • bowmansinbavaria

      Grie├č is semolina wheat, but as you say, most Americans are unfamiliar with that term, unless they know a lot about cooking/food ingredients. A similar product we have in the US to Grie├čbrei is Cream of Wheat. I remember eating Cream of Wheat when I was little, similar to the Grie├čbrei baby cereal I’ve seen here. Grits are kind of like Grie├čbrei, except that grits are made from corn meal. But if you mention Cream of Wheat or grits to Americans, that will give them something to compare Grie├čbrie to. I think most Americans would just think of Grie├č and Grie├č-like foods as a hot breakfast cereal/porridge and not a dessert (semolina pudding).

  7. Yay! I had some white Spargel (asperges in Dutch?) on mother’s day. Handpicked from my boyfriend’s sister’s garden. They were delicious! She promised to bring me some next time we meet up. My boyfriend claims he has never seen green asparagus, though, but in your post you said you picked up some! He is so sheltered.

    I haven’t tried the spelt products here much, though my friend used it in her baked goods a lot in the states. The place I buy quiche from makes the pie crust with spelt and it’s delicious, although very unusual for quiche.

Leave a Reply

