Hi there, you worldish thing you!

Um, hello.  The other Bowman in Bavaria.  Me, that is.  My writing skills are rusty.  I fear that  I will lack concision.  Or perhaps be overly concise.

“Do I contradict myself?
Very well I contradict myself –
I am large, I contain multitudes.”

– Walt Whitman

So, things are well.  Endlessly interesting, naturally!  But I must be discreet about certain details.  Though my position is protected by an extraordinarily strong union, I’m not the sort who will talk “out of turn”.

Well then.

If you read this blog, then you know the basic precis, boy meets girl, boy marries girl, boy and girl have baby, boy is offered opportunity to move to foothills of Alps and have job for life.  After brief discussion, boy accepts.

Right? Right!

So, first off – all is well.  We are not only managing we are thriving.  Points to us!

Second off.  I’m adjusting well to car-lessness,  In a big city like Mannheim, you don’t even notice not having a car.  Here, I’m a servant of the bus schedule.  Fortunately, my coleagues *get it* and are very accomodating.

so, that out of the way…thoughts on the area.

I can say, without hesitation, reservation or fear of contradiction, this is absolutely the most beautiful place I’ve ever lived in my life.  Christ, I have mountains across my street.  Our neighbors are lovely, as well.  This is one of the best living arrangements I’ve ever experienced.

Bad Heilbrunn is very interesting.  The days of doctors sending people to “take the waters” are gone, and accordingly, the economy of our area has failed.  Of course, the ridiculous beauty guaranteed that this would never turn into a “Gary of the Alps”, but it is definitely a bedroom community for the upper-middle class.  Hey.  I come from Fishers.  This is definitely a comfortable transition.  And, as I said before, our neighbors are definitely cool.

So, on the whole, Oberbayern definitely agrees with me.  Like the climate, love the geography, the people are a-ok.  And the job rocks, I rather think!

Leave a Reply

